2019 Annual Student Art Exhibition

Opening Reception: March 14th, 5-7pm, duPont Gallery

Public lecture by juror, Nate Larson, March 21st, 5pm, Monroe Hall rm 116

About the Juror:   

Nate Larson is a contemporary artist working with photographic media, artist books and digital video.

His projects have been widely shown across the US and internationally as well as featured in numerous publications and media outlets, including Wired, The Guardian, The Picture Show from NPR, Slate, CNN, Hyperallergic, Gizmodo, Buzzfeed News, Vice Magazine, the New York Times, Utne Reader, Hotshoe Magazine, Flavorwire, the BBC News Viewfinder, Frieze Magazine, the British Journal of Photography, APM’s Marketplace Tech Report, The Washington Post, and Art Papers. His artwork is included in the permanent collections of the High Museum Atlanta, Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, the Orlando Museum of Art, Portland Art Museum, the Museum of Fine Arts Houston, and the Museum of Contemporary Photography Chicago.

His recent project Geolocation, in collaboration with Marni Shindelman, tracks GPS coordinates associated with Twitter tweets and pairs the text with a photograph of the originating site to mark the virtual information in the real world. New site-specific work from the series was recently completed for Salisbury University Art Galleries in Maryland, Third Space Gallery in New Brunswick, Walter N. Marks Center for the Arts in California, and the Format International Photography Festival in the UK. Larson Shindelman recently created site-specific public artworks for the Atlanta Celebrates Photography Public Art Commission, the Indianapolis International Airport, and the DUMBO Business Improvement District. Geolocation was featured in the “State of the Art” survey exhibition at the Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art in 2014, now touring nationally, including recently at the Mint Museum in Charlotte and Frist Center in Nashville. Flash Powder Projects published a monograph of the project in January 2016.

Nate Larson is currently serving as Chair of the Photography Department at MICA / Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore. He was recently the Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel Visiting Artist Fellow at Duke University, an artist in residence at the Robert Rauschenberg Foundation in Florida, and a Rubys Artist Fellow with the Greater Baltimore Cultural Alliance.

Award Winners:

Each year, six works done by student artists are selected to receive awards. This year’s winner are…

Anika Hussain, She Breathed Once, 2018, Mixed Media on Canvas

Award of Excellence

Claudia Duncan, Untitled, 2018, Wax, Wood and Lightbulb

Award of Excellence

Emily Pawlica, Emerge, 2018, Plaster, Hand Dyed Fabric and Makeup on Wood and Plaster

Award of Excellence

Tara Meeks, Personal Space, 2018, Oil on Canvas

Melchers Gray Purchase Award

Samantha Van Heest, Air Dancer, 2018, Oil on Canvas

Emil R. Schnellock Award for Excellence in Painting

Courtney Chetister, They Go Marching, 2018, Multimedia Installation Sculpture

Ann Elizabeth Collins Memorial Art Award

Student Work Currently on Display:

           .    .     .         


Posted in Exhibitions.